Welcome from the Chair

The Governing Body has 12 members all of whom are actively involved in developing the Vision and Values of our school. We have collective responsibility for three key roles:

  • To provide a strategic view
  • To act as a critical friend
  • To ensure accountability

The work of a Governor in leading a school in the 21st century is complex, interesting, often challenging but always rewarding. We are not involved in the day to day management of the school but our members have a broad range of knowledge and experience which helps us to debate strategies for improvement and change where required.

We monitor results and other aspects of school life, such as attendance, behaviour and safeguarding. We also review the School’s policies.

Name Type of Governor Dates Committees Responsibilities
Mrs Sheila Wills Co-opted
Resources (Chair) Safeguarding, Pay Review and Performance Management
Mrs Andrea Shaw Co-opted
Curriculum and Ethos Pupil Tracker and Attendance
Mrs Kathy Ellison Co-opted 01/05/2018-
Curriculum (Chair) Early Years
Mr Michael Seath LEA 09/07/2019-
Resources Health & Safety, SEND and Performance Management
Miss Kirsty Williams Head Teacher 01/09/2018  Resources and Curriculun  Headteacher
Dr Kathryn Miller Parent 12/07/2019 – 11/07/2023
Mrs Lilly Chalker Staff 19/03/2019-
Resources  Attendance
Mr Mark Tennant Foundation 01/04/2018-
Curriculum Pay Review
Vacant Ex-Officio Foundation
 Mr Nicholas Hartnell  Parent 04/10/2018-
Mr Timothy Hamilton Foundation 01/10/2016-
Vacancy Co-opted
Mr Mark Loader Clerk to the Governing Body  30/10/2017

Governing Body Committee Structures:

Curriculum Committee: Kathy Ellison (Chair), Andrea Shaw, Mark Tennant, and Kirsty Williams.

Ethos Committee: Andrea Shaw (Chair), Timothy Hamilton, Mark Tennant and Kirsty Williams.

Resources Committee: Sheila Wills (Chair), Nick Hartnell, Lilly Chalker, Michael Seath and Kirsty Williams.

Governing Body members serving in the last 12 months

John Mustoe, stepped down: 9 July 2019

Emma Seagers, deceased: March 2019

Luke Sherlock, stepped down: March 2019

Penny Paske, stepped down: August 2018

Register of Governor Interests:

Mrs Sheila Wills is also a governor at Rodmarton Primary School and a Education Consultant Business Manager.
Mrs Kathy Ellison is also a governor at The Cotswold School.  There are no other interests declared.

There are no business or financial interests declared.

There are no other material interests declared.

2018/19 Full Governing Body meeting dates:

·         8th October 2018

·         4th December 2018

·         4th February 2019

·         26th March 2019

·         13th May 2019

·         9th July 2019

Governor Attendance 2018-19

  Overall Apologies Absent   8 Oct 2018 4 Dec 2018 4 Feb 2019 26 Mar 2019 14 May 2019 9 Jul 2019
Sheila Wills 100% 0% 0% Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Andrea Shaw 100% 0% 0% Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Kathy Ellison 83% 0% 17% Yes Yes Absent Yes Yes Yes
Mark Tennant 83% 17% 0% Yes Yes Yes Yes Apologies Yes
Timothy Hamilton 33% 33% 33% Yes Apologies Absent Absent Apologies Yes
Luke Sherlock 83% 17% 0% Yes Apologies Yes Yes Yes Yes
John Mustoe 67% 33% 0% Yes Apologies Yes Yes Yes Apologies
Nick Hartnell 100% 0% 0% Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Michael Seath 67% 17% 17% Apologies Yes Yes Absent Yes Yes
Rev David Ford 80% 20% 0% Yes Yes Apologies Yes Yes
Kirsty Williams 100% 0% 0% Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes